Album Release

88rising Executive Produced Shang-Chi Soundtrack Album

88rising Executive Produced Music OST Album Marvel Studios’ Film, Features JJ Lin, NIKI, Rich Brian, Anderson .Paak, Jhené Aiko and more.

88rising produced the music soundtrack to Shang-Chi, Marvel's latest blockbuster movie starred by top Asian casts including Simu Liu, Awkwafina, Tony Leung and Michelle Yeoh. Music Press Asia.

88rising produced the music soundtrack to Shang-Chi, Marvel's latest blockbuster movie starred by top Asian casts including Simu Liu, Awkwafina, Tony Leung and Michelle Yeoh. Music Press Asia.

Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings: The Album is now released as the soundtrack album to Marvel’s latest blockbuster movie. Adding another level of wholesomeness targeting a growing film industry involving audiences from Asia, its official motion picture soundtrack album – released by Interscope Records – is executive produced by 88rising; a record label that primarily focuses on Asian and Asian-American musicians.

Released on 3 September, the Marvel Studios music soundtrack features Anderson .Paak, Rich Brian, Swae Lee, Jhené Aiko, Mark Tuan, Saweetie, Audrey Nuna, NIKI, Guapdad 4000, Warren Hue, keshi, 21 Savage, Rick Ross, DJ Snake et al.

Working in close collaboration with Shang-Chi director Destin Daniel Cretton, 88rising used the film’s setting of San Francisco to tell a deeper story about the Asian-American experience — from what life is like at home, to getting into mischief, to falling in love for the first time. Just like the film itself, the album is anchored by the universal theme of family — exploring the relationships between our past generations, present, and future.

According to Marvel’s press release, notes that 88rising worked closely with Shang-Chi director Destin Daniel Cretton to develop the sounds of the film’s world.

“With this album, I wanted to bring artists together to tell the stories of unconditional love and memories of growing up – the distinct warmth of mom’s hot soup or cut fruit – and how she was always there for you whether you appreciated it or not,” said Sean Miyashiro.

“This album is for their sacrifice, their grit, and their endless endurance to give us the platform to be great. We wanted to make music and write songs celebrating all of that, while marrying the themes of the film of cherishing family, being fearless, and realizing your destiny.”

[Photo: Shang-chi soundtrack album art cover. Image by Marvel. Music Press Asia]

“The music on this album is the beating heart of our film. As we were editing Shang-Chi, we were constantly inspired by the early recordings coming in from these incredible musicians,” said Destin Daniel Cretton.

“When I first spoke to Sean about the idea for this album, we knew we wanted it to stand alone as a piece of work, but also be wrapped in the themes of our movie… themes of family, legacy, pain and healing.”

Shang-Chi and The Legend of The Ten Rings is directed by filmmaker Destin Daniel Cretton and stars Simu Liu, Tony Leung, Awkwafina, Fala Chen, Meng’er Zhang, Florian Munteanu and Ronny Chieng with Michelle Yeoh.

Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings: The Album is available for purchase now. — Tracklist below:

  1. Always Rising – NIKI, Rich Brian, Warren Hue
  2. Diamond + and Pearls – DPR LIVE, DPR IAN, peace.
  3. In The Dark – Swae Lee, Jhené Aiko
  4. Lazy Susan – 21 Savage, Rich Brian, Masiwei, Warren Hue
  5. Nomad – Zion.T, Gen Hoshino
  6. Fire in the Sky – Anderson .Paak
  7. Lose Control – JJ Lin
  8. Every Summertime – NIKI
  9. Never Gonna Come Down – Mark Tuan, BIBI
  10. Foolish – Rich Brian, Warren Hue, Guapdad 4000
  11. Clocked Out! – Audrey Nuna, NIKI
  12. Act Up – Rich Brian, Earthgang
  13. Baba Says – Various Artists
  14. Run It – DJ Snake, Rick Ross, Rich Brian
  15. Swan Song – Saweetie, NIKI
  16. War With Heaven – keshi
  17. Hot Soup – 88rising, Simu Liu
  18. Warriors – Warren Hue, Seori

88rising’s upcoming music and arts festival in Los Angeles, titled Heads in the Clouds will take place on 6 & 7 November at Brookside at the Rose Bowl.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *