world music

Putumayo World Music’s ‘Christmas Around the World’ Earns Top Spot on Music Press Asia’s Christmas Chart 2023

Christmas No1 Music Press Asia

Music Press Asia has named Putumayo World Music’s latest album, ‘Christmas Around the World,’ as the No. 1 pick on their 2023 Christmas Chart. This festive compilation stands out from the crowd with its vibrant tapestry of global sounds, bringing together artists from Congo to Cuba, Rome to Nova Scotia, and everything in between.

Putumayo has a knack for curating exceptional musical journeys, and ‘Christmas Around the World’ is no exception. The album brims with joyous celebration, celebrating family, gift-giving, and the universal spirit of the season. Sixteen bands, music groups, and even an orchestra join forces to create a diverse and delightful soundscape.

The album kicks off with a bang with “Joyeux Noël” by New York Twoubadou. This medley of Christmas classics sets the tone for the rest of the album, showcasing impressive musicianship with an African flair.

Putumayo Christmas Album 2023. Music Press Asia
[Putumayo World Music release Christmas album 2023.]

Steve Schuch & The Night Heron Consort follows with an Irish-infused rendition of “Here We Come A-Wassailing,” transporting listeners to a cozy pub with its warm melodies.

Liuba María Hevia’s “Venid Fieles Todos (Adeste Fidelis)” is a standout track, her youthful voice blending beautifully with the gentle strumming of the guitar.

Newswire Music Press Asia Asia Pacific 1k120

Banks Soundtech Steel Orchestra takes a beloved classic, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen,” and transforms it into an artistic masterpiece with steel pan magic.

Cuban singer Ramón F. Veloz injects some island vibes with his joyful “Paz En La Tierra,” a slow jig that will have you swaying your hips in no time.

Another gem is Ines Pupo & Goncalo Pratas’ “O Natal Já Começou,” a nostalgic jazz number that evokes the image of families dancing the night away in a festive bar. The album closes on a high note with Bobby Rodriguez’s energetic “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town,” leaving listeners with a feeling of pure holiday cheer.

Putumayo Blues Christmas. Music Press Asia
[Putumayo Presents Blues Christmas. Music Press Asia]

‘Christmas Around the World’ is more than just a Christmas album; it’s a musical adventure that takes you on a journey around the globe. Putumayo has once again succeeded in bringing the world together through music, reminding us that the spirit of Christmas transcends borders and languages. This album is a must-have for anyone looking for a fresh and festive addition to their holiday playlist.

Editor’s choice of events to attend in 2024
[Editor’s choice of events to attend in 2024]

Track Listing:

  1. New York Twoubadou – “Joyeux Noël” 0:00
  2. Steve Schuch &The Night Heron Consort – “Here We Come A-Wassailing” 3:01
  3. Liuba María Hevia – “Venid Fieles Todos (Adeste Fidelis)” 5:14
  4. Sheryl Cormier & Cajun Sounds – “St. Nicholas” 8:25
  5. Cuba L.A. – “Deck the Hall” 11:32
  6. Banks Soundtech Steel Orchestra – “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” 13:52
  7. Los Reyes – “White Christmas” 17:35
  8. Michael Doucet – “We Three Kings” 21:06
  9. Dan Crary – “What Child Is This” 24:23
  10. Pepe Castillo – “Aguinaldo Jibaro” 27:22
  11. Kali – “Douce Nuit (Silent Night)” 30:20
  12. Ramón F. Veloz – “Paz En La Tierra (Joy to the World)” 34:50

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Nossa Bossa Nova – “The First Noel” 37:50 from “Putumayo Presents Joy To The World”
  2. Jan Luna – “Winter Wonderland” 42:08 from “Putumayo Presents Joy To The World”
  3. Ines Pupo & Goncalo Pratas – “O Natal Já Começou” 44:26 from “Putumayo Presents Joy To The World”
  4. Bobby Rodriguez – “Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” 48:15 from “Putumayo Presents Latin Christmas”

For more information about purchasing this album, click here. Visit Putumayo World Music here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *