classical music

A Night For The Children

Upcoming: Malaysian classical pianist Ng Chong Lim performs works by Bach, Brahms and Schumann.

Ng Chong Lim piano recital features Bach Brahms Schumann cover. Music Press Asia

Ludwig van Beethoven once said that ‘music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy’. While orchestral music provides elements of a more heterogeneous perspective, solo works can be contemplative and restorative.

Here is a piano recital we believe could do just that. Ng Chong Lim is no stranger to the classical music world here in Malaysia. In aid of Prisoner’s Assistance Nepal and other humanitarian funds, Malaysian classical pianist Ng Chong Lim’s upcoming piano recital titled ‘A Night For The Children’ is scheduled to include works by Bach, Brahms and Schumann.

“It’s been a long time since I am involved with these projects & I am so grateful to all sponsors & friends for their kindness & support throughout all these years!”

Chong Lim NG, concert pianist.

Concert programme:

BACH/BRAHMS Chaconne for the left hand
BRAHMS Three Intermezzi Op. 117
SCHUMANN Davidsbündlertänze Op. 6

His dedication to the piano and its formidability is apparent in the works he had contemplated and performed over the years. Last July, Ng performed Mozart’s Cosi fan tutte Overture, Schuman’s piano concerto and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 at the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, with Gerard Salonga as conductor.

Ng Chong Lim’s piano recital is scheduled for November 22 at the KL & Selangor Chinese Assembly Hall. For ticketing information, please contact Soi Chee Yim on +6012.310.9955 (Malaysia).

Chong LIm NG official Facebook account.

Ng Chong Lim studied at the Royal College of Music (RCM), London under the tutelage of Professor Frank Wibaut. Over the years, he has served as juror of international competitions most recently with the international piano competitions held in Jakarta and Singapore.

A keen composer, Ng has had his works commissioned by and premiered in various countries. More recent works include “Footprints” for Piano Solo (premiered at John Donald Robb Composers’ Symposium in New Mexico, USA, 2011) and “Shadows” for Piano and Malay Traditional Instruments (premiered at International Festival of Classical Music” Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 2011).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *