Argentinian Cellist Sol Gabetta Performed at Nobel Prize Concert

Sol Gabetta Ryan Bancroft performed at Nobel Prize Concert 2021. Music Press Asia

Acclaimed Argentina-born cellist Sol Gabetta gave a breathtaking concert at this year’s Nobel Prize Concert on 8 December. She shared the stage with American conductor Ryan Bancroft.

Concert programme
Wilhelm Stenhammar: Excelsior!
Camille Saint-Saëns: Concerto No. 1
Hannah Kendall: The Spark Catchers
Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio espagnol

Watch the concert
Enjoy the 2021 Nobel Prize Concert featuring cellist Sol Gabetta, conductor Ryan Bancroft and the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra.

Sol Gabetta performs regularly with world-leading orchestras and conductors and has received several awards. Her charismatic stage personality and captivating interpretations have paved the way for a career that has taken her to the most prestigious stages and festivals.

At the 2021 Nobel Prize Concert, she was the soloist in Camille Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concert No. 1 − a radiant and blossoming piece of music that is considered one of the most beautiful compositions for the Instrument. The concert was her first with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra at Konserthuset Stockholm.

Ryan Bancroft’s career has skyrocketed since he won the prestigious Malko Competition for Young Conductors in 2018 and he is widely recognised as one of the most exciting new conducting talents to have emerged in recent years. He is rapidly building relationships with major orchestras around the world. In September 2019 he was appointed as Principal Conductor of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and is also Artist in Association with the Tapiola Sinfonietta in Finland. Originally a trumpeter he also studied harp, flute, cello and Ghanaian music and dance.

[Ryan Bancroft. Credit Per Morton]

The concert began with Excelsior! – a Swedish orchestral piece filled with ecstatic energy that was composed in 1896 by Wilhelm Stenhammar, then aged 25. Then followed the Cello Concerto No. 1 by Saint-Saëns with soloist Sol Gabetta. Following the interval, Ryan Bancroft leads the orchestra in the rhythmic and whimsical piece The Spark Catchers, a 2017 work by British composer Hannah Kendall. The concert concluded with the fiery orchestral dreams of Spain conveyed by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s playful and virtuosic Capriccio espagnol.

The Nobel Prize Concert is an annual concert that is part of the Nobel Week official program celebrating that year’s Nobel Prize laureates. It is presented by Nobel Prize Outreach in cooperation with Konserthuset Stockholm.


Relevant news: TOKYO — Japanese cellist Michiaki Ueno, who won first prize in the cello division of the Geneva International Music Competition in late October, has drawn attention since an early age with his outstanding artistry. The 25-year-old has reached the top spot by refining his sensitivity and technique. Ueno is a graduate of the Toho Gakuen School of Music Tokyo, where he studied under Pieter Wispelweij and Hakuo Mohri.

[He is a graduate of the Toho Gakuen School of Music Tokyo, where he studied under Pieter Wispelweij and Hakuo Mohri.]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *